#growyourfood 

Hello my friends! 

Mother’s Day is the official start of gardening season and I get so excited every year. We started a raised bed this year and I also wanted to try something else new. I was really inspired by Mavis over at One Hundred Dollars a Month and how she calculates how much she spends/saves on her garden. So, today $70.00 was spent on starter plants and one pack of seeds. It would have been lots cheaper if I had started everything from seed but it just didn’t happen this year. 

WWe have two different kinds of watermelon, cantaloupe, honeydew, yellow squash, zucchini, bell peppers, brussel sprouts, hot peppers, tomatoes, and cherry tomatoes. I also planted some spinach, radish, and black beans from seed. We also have a couple strawberry plants and a raspberry bush that is looking awesome. 

I think I will take pictures every week to update you all and to help me see progress. Have any of you ever calculated your “profit” from your garden? What do you like to grow?

Leave a Reply

