Baby Steps

I’ve been so inspired and motivated in the zero waste world lately from downsizing my things so asking a store employee if I can use glass jars for their bulk bins. Today in my city, I went to an awesome event called EarthFest. EarthFest is a festival type deal with vendors and workshops on things like fermentation, reiki, solar power, beekeeping, and zero waste! I unfortunately missed the zero waste workshop, but I love everything about the event and atmosphere. 

But after EarthFest I stopped by Kroger and their glass jars were on sale! So I got some 4 oz jars to switch my beauty-ish products (toothpaste, deodorant, face scrub, and face powder-all homemade) from plastic containers to the jars! 

Here’s before:

  

And here’s after:

  

It’s a slow process, and my family right now only has about three trash bags a month (not including recycling and compost), but I would love to get that down to even less! 

Is there anything like EarthFest in your area? Did you do anything awesome on this lovely Saturday? Let me know! 

One thought on “Baby Steps

  1. What I have been doing the past few weeks is collecting different items to dispose of them better. I recycle a lot, always have. Now there is less I am putting into the garbage bag because I have found a wiser home for it. The people at TerraCycle will help give other throwaway packaging a recycled home instead of landfill. https://www.terracycle.com/en-US/

Leave a Reply

