No Poo

Shampoo, that is! So I had read a lot about this before actually getting the guts to do it. But I finally have! So basically, shampoo and conditioner use harsh chemicals and silicone’s to strip your hair of its natural oils. Then your hair freaks about from the lack of oils and overproduces them to make up for it. That’s why your hair gets greasy so soon! Shampoo can also irritate your scalp, so then those nasty chemicals get under your skin. Yuck! So what can you do about it? Go no ‘poo! I use 1 tablespoon of baking soda and a cup of water as shampoo. Just wet your hair like normal, pour the baking soda and water over your hair and rub it in your hair focusing on the roots. When you feel like your hair is clean, just rinse it out. For conditioner,  I use a tablespoon on apple cider vinegar and a cup of water. The same process applies here, but you focus mostly on the ends of your hair. Since your hair is so used to commercial shampoo and conditioners, you will most likely go through a transition period while your hair gets used to not having to overproduce the oils. Through this time, your hair will most like be greasy, but stick with it! It will get so much better not to but your hair and scalp through all those harsh chemicals.

I have been no ‘poo for about a week, and I have washed my hair with the baking soda once since then. I think my hair is so much softer! I think I’m still in the transition period though, but I’m so excited to see how my hair changes! I’ll keep updating on here.  Have you ever tried going no ‘poo? Are you now? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

